About Ruari Jack Hughes

Dublin, Ireland June 2009
Ruari Jack Hughes

I was born in Sydney in 1944. I attended schools in New South Wales, Western Australia and New Zealand. At fifteen I left school without qualification because of family circumstances. For the next ten years I worked at a wide variety of jobs including shearing station rouseabout, shop assistant, factory hand, bank clerk, painter, builder’s labourer, merchant marine sailor, cook, wharf labourer, door-to-door salesman, and taxi driver.

In my mid-twenties, I entered university, eventually graduating with a BA in English Literature. Later I gained a post-graduate degree in Education and a Masters in Creative Writing. My professional life has been largely in education and included work in secondary schools, TAFE, teachers’ colleges and universities. For several years I was engaged in development aid work, training teachers in Zimbabwe.

I have published short stories and poetry in Australia (Western Australia & Queensland), Ireland, Israel, Italy, New Zealand, U.S.A., Zimbabwe.

Currently I am mostly concentrating on writing poetry, and have  been in the Emerging Writers Programme. A book has been published by WAPI Becoming Known

I am married to Rosemary Spark and have two adult daughters, Meryki and Kandace, and two grand-daughters, Mak and Ezri.I live near Fremantle in Western Australia.


Bachelor of Arts

Bachelor of Education (post-graduate)

Master of Letters in Creative Writing

Teachers’ Higher Certificate

Member Australian College of Educators


Forty years of experience with individual students and in high schools, tertiary education and TAFE in Australia and Zimbabwe.

Presently engaged in writing poetry, prose and drama

One thought on “About Ruari Jack Hughes”

  1. Hi Ruari and good evening. I am writing you from the US; when I received the results from the Familytree.com thought I should give you a call. I just did and left a voice mail. I will write you from my e-mail address (html26@hotmail.com). Best regards from Mary Lorene Thomas (likely a third or fourth cousin)

Leave a Reply